Leadership Kansas Class of 2013 Graduates

October 24, 2013

For more information, contact:
John Federico
Executive Director
Leadership Kansas

Leadership Kansas Class of 2013 Graduates

TOPEKA, KAN. (October 25, 2013) - On Friday, October 25, the forty members of the 2013 Leadership Kansas Class celebrated the completion of the 2013 program at a reception and dinner hosted by the Kansas Chamber and the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees at the Topeka Country Club.  Throughout the course of the six-month program, the 2013 class engaged in discussions and debates with top experts on the key issues facing Kansas while visiting Topeka, Pittsburg, the Kansas City Metro area, Colby/Goodland, Wichita, and Garden City.

Leadership Kansas is a nationally recognized program that aims to develop and motivate future leaders in the state. An affiliated program of the Kansas Chamber, Leadership Kansas is one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country. Leadership Kansas is celebrating its 35th year of educating and motivating leaders from all four corners of the state. The program remains committed to its original mission to inspire persons to maintain involvement in the social, business and political fabric of Kansas communities.

"The forty graduates of the program now have a broader view and appreciation of our state, are more energized to shoulder leadership responsibilities in their communities and careers and have a much better understanding of statewide business, political and social issues" said Kansas Chamber President and CEO Mike O’Neal (Class of '85).

Each year, close to 600 people are nominated to apply for the program. Upon the conclusion of a thorough and thoughtful application and selection process, 40 individuals are selected to participate in the class. Leadership Kansas makes every effort to ensure geographic, racial, occupational, and gender diversity so that each class is truly representative of the state. The class of 2013 was approved by the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees, chaired by Mark Knackendoffel (Class of '01).  John Federico (Class of '97) serves as the Executive Director of Leadership Kansas.

Class of 2013 graduates:

Joseph Bain, Goodland

Daniel Barwick, Independence

Elaine Bowers, Concordia

James Brown, Kansas City

Andrew Cobb, Andover

James (Jim) Colson, Topeka

Vance Crocker, Lawrence

Michelle Cuevas-Stubblefield, Topeka

Haley DaVee, Topeka

Dave Engel, Phillipsburg

Mitchell Fiser, Shawnee

Ryan Flickner, Wichita

Ted Gartner, Lenexa

Douglas Gerber, Goodland

Josh Gilmore, Sterling

Sue Givens, El Dorado

Shelley Hansel-Williams, Wellington

Jackie Hartman, Manhattan

Timothy Heenan, Chanute

Mark Hinde, Garden City

Kimberly Honeycutt, Saint Marys

Steven Johnson, Assaria

Jamie Klausmeyer, Wichita

Timothy Lopatofsky, Leawood

Mark Lowry, Stockton

Jeffrey Martin, Meriden

Teresa Moravek, Overland Park

Andrew Myers, Pittsburg

Travis Oliver, Perry

Patti Petersen-Klein, Topeka

Steve Peterson, Andover

William Pickert, Wichita

Penny Postoak Ferguson, Lenexa

Coby Sedlacek, Hanover

Dan Soliday, Bel Aire

Gene Suellentrop, Wichita

Donna Thomas, Mission Hills

Christopher Tymeson, Topeka

Toni Wheeler, Lawrence

Brooke Yoder, Overland Park 


 The Kansas Chamber, with headquarters in Topeka, is the leading statewide pro-business advocacy group moving Kansas towards becoming the best state in America to live and work. The Chamber represents small, medium and large employers all across Kansas. For more information on the Kansas Chamber of Commerce, go to www.kansaschamber.org