Leadership Kansas 2014 Class Announced

February 28, 2014

For more information contact:
John Federico
Executive Director
Leadership Kansas

TOPEKA - On behalf of the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees, the Kansas Chamber is pleased to announce the members of the 2014 Leadership Kansas class. Leadership Kansas is a nationally recognized program that aims to develop and motivate current Kansas leaders and counts among its 1,400 alumni, some of the most distinguished leaders across the state.

An affiliated program of the Kansas Chamber, Leadership Kansas is one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country. Leadership Kansas is entering its 36th year of educating and motivating leaders from all four corners of the state. The program remains committed to its original mission to inspire persons to maintain involvement in the social, business and political fabric of Kansas communities.

"The Kansas Chamber is proud to be the sponsoring entity of the Leadership Kansas program, which fosters greater awareness and understanding of statewide economic, business and political issues. Leadership Kansas helps develop our state leaders to make Kansas the best place in America in which to live and do business," said Kansas Chamber President and CEO Mike O'Neal (Class of '85).

Each year, close to 600 people are nominated to apply for the program. Upon the conclusion of a thorough and thoughtful application and selection process, 40 individuals are selected to participate in the class. Leadership Kansas makes every effort to ensure geographic, racial, occupational, and gender diversity so that each class is truly representative of the state. The class of 2014 was approved by the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees, chaired by Steve Johnson (Class of '98). John Federico (Class of '97) serves as the Executive Director of Leadership Kansas.

Throughout the six-month program, the 40 members of the class are exposed to a variety of experts and educational 3-day training sessions in six different Kansas communities. The diverse discussion topics include: business; education; agriculture; public policy; societal health and development; economics; and government, just to name a few.  

"Graduates of the Leadership Kansas program leave with a better understanding of our state and are better equipped to shoulder important leadership responsibilities in their communities and careers," Johnson states.  

The 2014 Program begins in late April with an Orientation Session in Lawrence and ends with an optional session in Pittsburg in November. The host cities for this year's program are Garden City, Hutchinson/Wichita, Manhattan/Junction City, Kansas City Metro, Hays, and Topeka. Distinguished Leadership Kansas alumni include: Former Speaker of the House and current Kansas Chamber President and CEO Mike O'Neal; Former Governor Bill Graves; Andy Tompkins, CEO & President of the Kansas Board of Regents; C.Q. Chandler IV, President of INTRUST Bank; Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger; CEO of the Kroger Company David Dillon; Former Spirit Aerosystems President & CEO Jeff Turner; Murfin Drilling Company, Inc. President Dave Murfin; U.S. Senator Jerry Moran and U.S. Representatives Lynn Jenkins and Kevin Yoder, among others.

Click here to see a complete list of the 2014 Leadership Kansas class.


The Kansas Chamber, with headquarters in Topeka, is the leading statewide pro-business advocacy group moving Kansas towards becoming the best state in America to live and work. The Chamber represents small, medium and large employers all across Kansas. For more information on the Kansas Chamber of Commerce, go to www.kansaschamber.org