Leadership Kansas Class of 2014 Graduates

October 24, 2014

For more information, contact:
John Federico
Executive Director
Leadership Kansas

Leadership Kansas Class of 2014 Graduates

TOPEKA, KAN. (October 24, 2014) - On Friday, October 24, the thirty-nine members of the 2014 Leadership Kansas Class celebrated the completion of the 2014 program at a reception and dinner hosted by the Kansas Chamber and the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees at the Topeka Country Club.  Throughout the course of the six-month program, the 2014 class engaged in discussions and debates with top experts on the key issues facing Kansas while visiting Hays, the Kansas City Metro area, Garden City, Manhattan, Wichita, and Topeka.

Leadership Kansas is a nationally recognized program that aims to develop and motivate future leaders in the state. An affiliated program of the Kansas Chamber, Leadership Kansas is one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country. Leadership Kansas is celebrating its 36th year of educating and motivating leaders from all four corners of the state. The program remains committed to its original mission to inspire persons to maintain involvement in the social, business and political fabric of Kansas communities.

"The thirty-nine graduates of the program now have a broader view and appreciation of our state, are more energized to shoulder leadership responsibilities in their communities and careers and have a much better understanding of statewide business, political and social issues" said Kansas Chamber President and CEO Mike O'Neal (Class of '85).

Each year, close to 600 people are nominated to apply for the program. Upon the conclusion of a thorough and thoughtful application and selection process, 40 individuals are selected to participate in the class. Leadership Kansas makes every effort to ensure geographic, racial, occupational, and gender diversity so that each class is truly representative of the state. The class of 2014 was approved by the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees, chaired by Steve Johnson (Class of '98). John Federico (Class of '97) serves as the Executive Director of Leadership Kansas.

Class of 2014 graduates:

Jeffrey (Jeff) Beasley, Topeka

Kirby Brown, Fort Leavenworth

Denice Bruce, Wichita

Amy Burns, Topeka

Brad Cowan, Goodland

Virginia Crossland-Macha, Iola

Jennifer Cunningham, Garden City

Michelle De La Isla, Topeka

Lee Beth Dever, Lawrence

Ryan Gilliland, Topeka

Becky Gray, Pittsburg

Paul Grimes, Pittsburg

Vince Haines, El Dorado

David Harwood, Leawood

Cindy Hoover, Wichita

Schaunta James-Boyd, Wichita

Scott Jones, Overland Park

Timothy Keck, Topeka

Kimberly Krull, El Dorado

Christine Ladner, Lawrence

Danny Langerot, Jr., Columbus

Judd Liebau, Chapman

Janice Luth, Wichita

Patty McManus Corcoran, Overland Park

Stephanie Meyer, Shawnee

Joshua Ney, Lawrence

Daryl Pint, Shawnee

Joseph Reardon, Kansas City

Nathan Regier, Newton

Gabe Schlickau, Danville

Charles Schmidt, Independence

Henry Schwaller IV, Hays

David Steinmann, Independence

Jeff Sutton, Marysville

Jonathan Thomas, Fairway

Shawn Turner, Baxter Springs

Jeff Vaught, Shawnee

Eric Williams, Wichita

Kristey Williams, Augusta 

The Kansas Chamber, with headquarters in Topeka, is the leading statewide pro-business advocacy group moving Kansas towards becoming the best state in America to live and work. The Chamber represents small, medium and large employers all across Kansas. The mission of the Kansas Chamber of Commerce is to continually strive to improve the economic climate for the benefit of every business and citizen and to safeguard our system of free, competitive enterprise. 

For more information on the Kansas Chamber of Commerce, go to www.kansaschamber.org