Leadership Kansas' Leadership Summit to be held in Lawrence April 24

April 24, 2015

TOPEKA, KAN. (April 23, 2015) - Nearly 250 business and community leaders from across Kansas will meet in Lawrence, Kansas on Friday, April 24 for Leadership Kansas' annual Leadership Summit & GRAND RECEPTION. The Leadership Summit will be held at the Oread Hotel and will be followed by the GRAND RECEPTION which provides some of the best networking opportunities in the state. Leadership Kansas alum, and current CEO of the Council of State Governments, David Adkins, will serve as the Master of the Ceremonies for the evening's event.

 The highlight of the evening will be a moderated discussion with keynote speaker Carl Bernstein.  Mr. Bernstein is an American investigative journalist and author who did the majority of the most important news reporting on the Watergate scandal.

 The Leadership Summit's agenda also includes an introduction of the 40 members of the 2015 Leadership Kansas class who will participate in an Orientation Session on April 24th and 25th in Lawrence. Additionally, members of the Emerging Leader's Program, comprised of the Student Body Presidents representing the 7 Kansas Regent Universities, will enjoy the opportunity to interact with the 2015 Class and distinguished members of prior Leadership Kansas classes.

 An affiliated program of the Kansas Chamber, Leadership Kansas is one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country. Leadership Kansas is entering its 37th year of educating and motivating outstanding individuals from all four corners of the state. The program remains committed to its original mission to inspire leaders to maintain involvement in the social, business and political fabric of Kansas communities.  

 "Graduates of the Leadership Kansas program leave with a better understanding of our state and are better equipped to shoulder important leadership responsibilities in their communities and careers," Leadership Kansas Board Chairman Terry Wilson states.

 Distinguished Leadership Kansas alumni include: Former Speaker of the House and current Kansas Chamber President and CEO Mike O'Neal; Former Governor Bill Graves; Westar Energy CEO, Mark Ruelle; Andy Tompkins, President & CEO of the Kansas Board of Regents; C.Q. Chandler IV, President of INTRUST Bank; former Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger; Pittsburg State University President, Steve Scott; retired Brig. Gen Deborah Rose; former CEO of the Kroger Company David Dillon; former Spirit Aerosystems President & CEO Jeff Turner; Murfin Drilling Company, Inc. President Dave Murfin; U.S. Senator Jerry Moran and U.S. Representatives Lynn Jenkins and Kevin Yoder, among others.


 The Kansas Chamber, with headquarters in Topeka, is the leading statewide pro-business advocacy group moving Kansas towards becoming the best state in America to live and work. The Chamber represents small, medium and large employers all across Kansas. The mission of the Kansas Chamber of Commerce is to continually strive to improve the economic climate for the benefit of every business and citizen and to safeguard our system of free, competitive enterprise. 

 For more information on the Kansas Chamber of Commerce, go to www.kansaschamber.org