Leadership Kansas Awards Its 2012 Alumnus of the Year Award To Kent Beisner, President and CEO of the Kansas Chamber

April 26, 2012

Topeka, KAN. (April 26, 2012) – On April 20, 2012 Leadership Kansas alumni and current class members from across the state gathered at the Lawrence Arts Center in Lawrence, KS at their annual Leadership Summit & Grand Reception.

As part of the evening’s festivities, Kent Beisner, a 1983 graduate of Leadership Kansas, was presented with the “Jim Edwards Alumnus of The Year Award.” This award is presented annually to a deserving Leadership Kansas alumnus who has distinguished themselves either by their contributions to the Leadership Kansas Program, or achieved a high degree of professional success after participating in the program.

Beisner, who currently serves as the President and CEO of the Kansas Chamber, has achieved both.  He was selected due to the leadership he has exhibited in his service to the state’s business community, and for his unselfish contributions of time and talent in support of the Leadership Kansas Program. As the leader of the parent organization to Leadership Kansas, Kent remains highly involved in the success of the program.

Leadership Kansasis one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country.  Established by former Governor Robert Bennett, and supported and administered by the Kansas Chamber, the Program is celebrating its 34th year of educating and motivating Kansas leaders from all four corners of the state. 

Previous recipients of the “Jim Edwards Alumnus of the Year” Award include former Governor Bill Graves, President& CEO of Spirit AeroSystems Jeff Turner, Congressman Jerry Moran, and local businesswomen Shirley Martin-Smith and Barbara Carswell.

Leadership Kansas has already started accepting nominations for applicants for next years’ program which will begin in April of 2013 (www.leadershipkansas.org).