Kansas Chamber Applauds Kansas Senate for Its Approval of SB 22

Senators voted 26-14 to Stop the Kansas Tax Increase
Topeka, KAN., (February 7, 2019)– Kansas Chamber President and CEO Alan Cobb issued the following statement after the Kansas Senate voted 26-14 to approve Senate Bill 22 to stop the Kansas tax increase.
“The Kansas Senate overwhelming agreed that now is not the time to raise taxes on Kansas citizens and businesses.
The Kansas Chamber and its members applaud Senate President Susan Wagle, Vice President Jeff Longbine and Majority Leader Jim Denning for their leadership and the senators who voted to decouple from last year’s federal tax cuts. They understand that the 2017 Tax Cut and Jobs Act was meant to reduce Americans’ tax burden and to energize our economy – not to unintentionally increase state taxes.
The Chamber recognizes stopping the Kansas tax increase has a long ways to go.  We look forward to working with Governor Kelly and members of the Kansas House of Representatives to ensure they do not increase the state tax burden on Kansas citizens and businesses.”
SB 22 now moves to the Kansas House of Representatives for consideration.

With headquarters in Topeka, the Kansas Chamber, is the leading statewide pro-business advocacy group moving Kansas towards becoming a top state to live and work. The Chamber represents small, medium and large employers across Kansas. The mission of the Kansas Chamber is to continually strive to improve the economic climate for the benefit of every business and citizen and to safeguard our system of free, competitive enterprise.

For more information on the Kansas Chamber, visit www.kansaschamber.org.


Share This